New Devon Ordnance Survey 1860 – 1890’s Maps Online

The National Library of Scotland have been pleased to collaborate with the British Library in a recent project, funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund, to scan, georeference and make available Ordnance Survey mapping for Devon.  The project has included first edition OS 25 inch to the mile maps covering the county, and more detailed OS town plans at 1:500 scale for all the towns in Devon with more than 4,000 people: Barnstaple, Bideford, Brixham, Crediton, Dartmouth, Dawlish, Exeter, Exmouth, Ilfracombe, Newton Abbot, Plymouth, Tavistock, Tiverton, Torquay and Totnes.

The project forms part of the Know Your Place West of England Project, and has allowed NLS to fill gaps in their holdings for Devon with British Library maps, so the online presentation is now more complete.

See the Devon Ordnance Survey maps here.